Neath Port Talbot Road Safety offer National Standard Cycle Training through the following cycle training schemes.

Cycle Awareness Level 1

Conducted in a controlled environment away from roads and traffic. Cyclists are usually trained in groups. Provides the basic cycle control skills including, starting and pedalling, stopping, manoeuvring, signalling and using the gears.

Cyclecraft Level 2

On-road training for those who have completed Level 1 and are ready to progress; it gives real cycling experience and makes trainees feel safer and capable of dealing with traffic on short commuting journeys or when cycling to school. Training is mainly in small groups over a number of sessions.

Adult Level 3

Develops the basic skills and trains riders to make journeys in a variety of traffic conditions competently, confidently and consistently. Cyclists reaching the Level 3 standard will be able to deal with all types of road conditions and more complex situations.

  • Tips on Wearing your Cycle Helmet
  • Cycle Safety Check
  • Rules for cyclists